However, by contacting an experienced New Jersey DWI Lawyer, you can put up a defense to try to have your penalties greatly reduced. At LePore & Luizzi, if we think it’s possible to get your charges dropped, we’ll vigorously pursue that option. We won’t, however, waste your money or our time trying to get the charges dropped if we know it’s impossible. Instead, we will do everything in our power to have your penalties reduced.
New Jersey DUI Penalties
New Jersey DUI penalties vary depending on how high your BAC was when you were pulled over, and whether it’s a first, second, or third offense. Realistically, minimum fines and penalty you will face for driving or boating under the influence of alcohol or drugs for a first offense are:
- Up to a $500.00 fine
- From 12 to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
- From a 3 month to 12 month suspension of your drivers license
- possible jail time of up to 30 days
For a third NJ DUI offense, the maximum fines and penalty can be as high as:
- thousands of dollars of charges from your insurance company
- minimum of 6 months in jail
- 10 year suspension of your driver’s license
After the ten years are up, for a third offense, your car will need to be fitted with an ignition interlock device, which is a breathalyzer test device you’ll need to use every time you want to turn on your car.
For more detailed information regarding your potential NJ DUI penalties click here.
Our Brick-based attorney firm offers free initial New Jersey DUI/DWI consultations, and we accept Visa, MasterCard, and Discover. In addition, we answer all of our phone calls and work to get our clients as involved in their cases as possible. Contact LePore & Luizzi today for experienced, accessible legal representation for your Brick, Ocean County, Monmouth County or NJ area DUI or DWI.